Day 2 – Oh my word; that hurt!

After the initial high of my first run – day 2.  For whatever reason, I decided to completely rearrange all the furniture in the lounge first.  This was probably as strenuous as a run itself.  But I found myself twitching and wanting to run!   That’s a first.  I don’t know if it was because the furniture was making me feel a bit claustrophobic or what, but I had to get out of the house.

My legs were still burning from the day before.  Every step of my walk/run was painful.  I took the dog with me, but he just wanted to run… and run… and run!  I let him off the lead across the park – he decided that I was too slow and bolted home.   I live next to the park, so it’s not like he was running wild down streets and roads.  He ran home and sat on the door step waiting for me.  Could’t decide if that was a good thing or not, cheeky boy!

When I got in, I could hardly move.  I timed myself this time.  Normally I would walk that route slowly with the dog.  It would take about an hour, give or take.  This time it took 26 minutes.  I’ll use this as a baseline.

I don’t understand how people manage to run for more than a couple of minutes at a time.  It hurts.  It really hurts.  It hurts my thighs – (walking up the 2 flights of stairs at work today nearly killed me).  It hurts my shins.  It hurts my chest.  I feel like I’m going to puke.  It hurts my side when I get a stitch.    Why do people do this?  Tell me its going to get easier – please!?!

 

 

Leave a Reply

